Soyuz MS-19 landed with the Record-Setting Astronaut and Crew

The trio departed the International Space Station and made a safe, parachute-assisted landing at Kazakhstan


Credit: NASA/ Bill Ingalls
soyuz ms-19 landing

On Wednesday, March 30, 2022, at 14:28:03 Moscow time (11:28:03 UTC), the descent vehicle of the Soyuz MS-19 manned spacecraft, which had separated about four hours before the International Space Station, landed on the calculated steppe area in the municipality of Dzhezkazgan, on the territory of Kazakhstan. Roscosmos crew Anton Shkaplerov and Pyotr Dubrov, as well as NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei, returned to Earth.


The Return Plan; All de-orbit and landing operations took place nominally, and the crew is in good health condition. The Soyuz spacecraft separated from the Rassvet research module from the station's Russian segment at 10:21 am Moscow time [07:21 UTC]. The Service module's SKD propulsion system functioned nominally and was switched on for braking at 1:34 pm Moscow time [10:34 UTC], after which the spacecraft began to slow down its velocity and starts to deorbit. Shortly afterward, the Soyuz split into its three compartments, and the crew in the descent vehicle experienced forces of about four times of earth's gravity.



Today, Two Cosmonauts Anton Shkaplerov and Pyotr Dubrov will be flown by special aircraft to Aerodrom Chkalovskiy in the Moscow region and then to the Zvezdniy Gorodok aka Star City Pre-Launch and Post-flight Rehabilitation Training Complex for cosmonauts.

Their rehabilitation will take place in several stages: the first 2-3 weeks they will spend at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, then they will go to a nursing home.



Astronaut Mark Vande Hei arrived at the station April 9, 2021, Now currently holds the record for the longest continuous spaceflight in history by an American to 355 days shares alongside with his Soyuz MS-18 cosmonaut crew mate Pyotr Dubrov, both stayed back in Extended mission after the departure of Soyuz MS-18 with Commander Oleg Novitskiy and the short stayed cinema movie crew. The Russian Actress and Film director of the movie crew arrived ISS with Commander Anton Shkaplerov on Soyuz MS-19, 5th Oct. 2021.


Beginning of New Expedition

With the undocking of the Soyuz MS-19 spacecraft with Vande Hei, Shkaplerov, and Dubrov aboard, Expedition 67 officially began aboard the station. NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn recently took over as station commander, and is joined by NASA astronauts Raja Chari and Kayla Barron, ESA astronaut Matthias Maurer, and Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev, and Sergey Korsakov.

ISS Expedition-67

Marshburn, Chari, Barron and Maurer will remain onboard until late April, when NASA astronauts Kjell Lindgren, Bob Hines, and Jessica Watkins, as well as ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti launch to the station as part of NASA’s SpaceX Crew-4 mission.



148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All